Latest news
Commentary on Ferrari "hacks"
From: Giordani Rodrigues
To: security curmudgeon
Date: Wed, 15 May 2002 10:41:38 -0300
Subject: Re: [defaced-commentary] Crackers deface Ferrari
Hi, Brian.
Every major site posted an article about it, here in Brazil. And the reasons are: Barrichelo and the defacers are Brazilians. But, IMHO, everybody made a mistake, including Mr. Leyden from The Register. As far as I know, the sites don't belong to the real Ferrari, and I said it in my article (in colaboration with Eva Mothci and Fernando Sousa, from Terra/Lycos):
http://www.infoguerra.com.br/infonews/viewnews.cgi?newsid1021323288,70815,
There were 3 defaced sites: ferrari-group.com and ferrari-group.biz, defaced by S4t4n1c_Souls and ferrari.co.jp, defaced by Silver Lords.
The mirrors are:
http://www.zone-h.org/defaced/2002/05/12/www.ferrari.co.jp
http://www.zone-h.org/defaced/2002/05/12/www.ferrari-group.com
http://www.zone-h.org/defaced/2002/05/12/www.ferrari-group.biz
Click on www.ferrari-group.com (it's restored now). Do you really think this site belongs to Ferrari? (The title of the page is "new domain"!!)
Ferrari is located at Maranello, Italy, and its company's name is Ferrari
S.p.A. But, take a look at these whois:
Ferrari-group.biz and ferrari-group.com (the domain ferrari-group.com was
created in 2001-09-27, only 6 months ago!!!):
Domain Name.......... ferrari-group.com
Creation Date........ 2001-09-27
Registration Date.... 2001-09-27
Expiry Date.......... 2002-09-27
Organisation Name.... Ferrari Group srl
Organisation Address. via T. Gallio, 3
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Cittadella
Organisation Address. 35013
Organisation Address. PD
Organisation Address. ITALY
... snip ...
The real Ferrari at USA:
Ferrari North America (FERRARI6-DOM)
via Abetone Inferiore 4
Maranello, MO 41053
ITALY
Domain Name: FERRARI.COM
Administrative Contact:
Sala, Alessandro (ASV707) asala@FERRARI.IT
ferrari s.p.a.
via Abetone Inferiore 4
Maranello, MO 41053
IT
+39 0536 949792 (FAX) +39 0536 949011
Technical Contact:
Ciaoservice Domain Registration Staff (CD3998-ORG)
cshostmaster@CIAOWEB.IT
Ciaoservice s.p.a.
Strada 3 - Palazzo B/2 - 20 Piano
Assago, 20090
ITALY
+39 02 575591
Fax- +39 02 57559319
[ Read more ]
Spotlight

IT security jobs: What's in demand and how to meet it
Posted on 15 May 2013. | Let's say you want a career in information security, where do you start? What credentials do you need? What are employers looking for? Read on to find some answers.

Is Microsoft is reading your Skype communications?
Posted on 15 May 2013. | The question of whether Skype allows U.S. intelligence and law enforcement agencies to access the communications exchanged by its users has still not been adequately answered by Microsoft.

Internet Explorer best at blocking malware
Posted on 14 May 2013. | While Chrome’s malware download protection improved significantly, Internet Explorer 10 continues to outperform the other browsers with a block rate of 99.96%.

Researcher refuses to help Saudi telco to spy on people
Posted on 14 May 2013. | You would think that a Saudi Arabian telecom firm interested in monitoring its users' mobile communications would not be asking a well-known pro-privacy researcher for help, but you would be wrong.

Malicious browser extensions are hijacking Facebook accounts
Posted on 13 May 2013. | Facebook users - especially those in Brazil - are being targeted with malicious browser extensions trying to hijack Facebook profiles, warns Microsoft.
By subscribing to our early morning news update, you will receive a daily digest of the latest security news published on Help Net Security.
With over 500 issues so far, reading our newsletter every Monday morning will keep you up-to-date with security risks out there.





