Beware of Facebook 'friends' who may trash your laptop

Thursday, 29 January 2009, 6:04 PM EST

The message that popped into Laurie Gale's Facebook inbox last month seemed harmless enough -- a friend had seen a video of Ms. Gale and had sent a link so Ms. Gale could view it. The link led to a video site that prompted her to update her video software, which she did.

"Within seconds, everything started shutting itself down," says Ms. Gale, a 37-year-old lamp-works artist from Versailles, Ky. Ms. Gale's new Dell Inspiron laptop had been infected with malicious software, or malware, that has spread through social networking sites like Facebook and MySpace.

At WSJ.

[ Read more ]




Spotlight

Fake "Online Ebola Alert Tool" delivers Trojan

Posted on 29 October 2014.  |  Cyber scammers continue to take advantage of the fear and apprehension surrounding the proliferation of the Ebola virus.


Weekly newsletter

Reading our newsletter every Monday will keep you up-to-date with security news.
  



Daily digest

Receive a daily digest of the latest security news.
  

DON'T
MISS

Thu, Oct 30th
    COPYRIGHT 1998-2014 BY HELP NET SECURITY.   // READ OUR PRIVACY POLICY // ABOUT US // ADVERTISE //