Fake Pinterest "Password changed" email leads to malware
Posted on 04.07.2013
Pinterest users beware: an email purportedly coming from the popular pinboard-style photo-sharing website and notifying you of a successful password reset is fake:


If you click on the offered button that will ostensibly show you the new password, you will be taken through a series of redirections and will finally land on a compromised website hosting the Blackhole exploit kit.

If you aren't careful about keeping your software and OS updates, chances are that the exploit kit will find a security vulnerability to take advantage of and will download and execute the Cridex Trojan - a piece of banking malware that also opens a backdoor on the target computer.

Trend Micro researchers advise users to avoiding clicking links in suspicious emails, and to always perform account-related changes only on the actual websites of the services to which they have subscribed to.









Spotlight

51% of consumers share passwords

Posted on 20 August 2014.  |  The research revealed that consumers are not only sharing passwords but also potentially putting their personal and sensitive information at risk by leaving themselves logged in to applications on their mobile devices, with over half of those using social media applications and email admitting that they leave themselves logged in on their mobile device.


Weekly newsletter

Reading our newsletter every Monday will keep you up-to-date with security news.
  



Daily digest

Receive a daily digest of the latest security news.
  

DON'T
MISS

Thu, Aug 21st
    COPYRIGHT 1998-2014 BY HELP NET SECURITY.   // READ OUR PRIVACY POLICY // ABOUT US // ADVERTISE //