Malicious "Your Photos" email from fake LinkedIn users
Posted on 29.10.2012
If you receive an email seemingly coming from a LinkedIn user, asking you to open an attachment in order to see "your photos" - don't do it!


Opening the Image_DIG[random number].htm file with Internet Explorer will lead you to a
website sporting the "Please wait a moment. You will be forwarded…" message intended for making users wait long enough to be surreptitiously redirected to a Russian website hosting the BlackHole exploit kit.

The kit will attempt to take advantage of vulnerabilities present in some of your software, and if it succeeds, you'll end up with malware on your computer.

According to Sophos, more and more of intercepted attacks involve the Blackhole exploit kit, so keeping your computer's anti-virus software and software patches up-to-date as well as learning to exercise caution about opening unsolicited attachments or clicking on unknown links is etremely important.






Spotlight

Chrome extension thwarts user profiling based on typing behavior

Infosec consultant Paul Moore came up with a working solution to thwart a type of behavioral profiling. The result is a Chrome extension called Keyboard Privacy, which prevents profiling of users by the way they type by randomizing the rate at which characters reach the DOM.


Weekly newsletter

Reading our newsletter every Monday will keep you up-to-date with security news.
  



Daily digest

Receive a daily digest of the latest security news.
  
DON'T
MISS

Wed, Jul 29th
    COPYRIGHT 1998-2015 BY HELP NET SECURITY.   // READ OUR PRIVACY POLICY // ABOUT US // ADVERTISE //