Google users targeted with malware-laden "Suspicious sign in" notices
Posted on 04.09.2012
Emails purportedly sent by the Google Accounts Team warning about a prevented "suspicious sign- in" have been spotted targeting Google users.


"Someone recently tried to use an application to sign in to your Google Account," says in the email. "We prevented the sign-in attempt in case this was a hijacker trying to access your account. Please review the details of the sign-in attempt in attached file."

The attached file is deceptively named Google_Accounts_Alert-6284-S44-8098.zip, and actually contains an executable file - a backdoor Trojan that opens the way for other malware to be delivered to the victim's machine, and is currently detected by only half of the AV solutions used by VirusTotal.






Spotlight

The security threat of unsanctioned file sharing

Posted on 31 October 2014.  |  Organisational leadership is failing to respond to the escalating risk of ungoverned file sharing practices among their employees, and employees routinely breach IT policies.


Weekly newsletter

Reading our newsletter every Monday will keep you up-to-date with security news.
  



Daily digest

Receive a daily digest of the latest security news.
  

DON'T
MISS

Fri, Oct 31st
    COPYRIGHT 1998-2014 BY HELP NET SECURITY.   // READ OUR PRIVACY POLICY // ABOUT US // ADVERTISE //